Tuesday, 22 September 2015

2015 David S Thompson Award

Bouchercon, the World Mystery Convention, is proud to announce that the recipients of the 2015 David S. Thompson Award are Bill & Toby Gottfried. 

The David S. Thompson Award, named for the late beloved publisher, bookseller, and crime fiction reader advocate, is presented by the National Bouchercon Board torecognize EXTRAORDINARY efforts to develop and promote the mystery and crime fiction community. Nominees include writers, publishers, readers, editors, and fans.

Extraordinary Efforts: Who best to receive this award than that extraordinary couple, Bill and Toby Gottfried, who have promoted mysteries and crime fiction through their involvement in mystery conventions, books groups, book buying, discussions and so more more. Bill and Toby exemplify what's best about the Mystery Community.

Toby and Bill have attended almost every Bouchercon since 1985. Their involvement in the mystery community goes far beyond attending conferences and buying books. They have actively participated on multiple Bouchercon committees and have chaired two Left Coast Crime Conventions. They plan vacations and travel around mystery conventions. At each convention, they make authors and readers feel welcome, breaking bread with them, and welcoming them in every possible way into the mystery community as friends and family.

Their involvement in the mystery community is driven by a love of people intellect, mystery, history, and fun.

The David S. Thompson Award will be presented at Bouchercon 2015 in Raleigh, NC, on Saturday, October 10, 2015.

For more information, contact Janet Rudolph at janet@mysteryreaders.org

No comments: