Monday 16 January 2017

2017 Lefty Award Nominees

The Lefty awards will be voted on at the convention and presented at a banquet on Saturday, March 18, at the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort. Congratulations to all the nominees.

Lefty for Best Humorous Mystery Novel.

This year’s nominees are:
Die Like an Eagle by Donna Andrews (Minotaur Books)
Body on the Bayou by Ellen Byron (Crooked Lane Books)
Fields Where They Lay by Timothy Hallinan (Soho Crime)
The CEO Came DOA by Heather Haven (Wives of Bath Press)
Floodgate by Johnny Shaw (Thomas & Mercer)
A Disguise To Die For by Diane Vallere (Berkley Prime Crime)

Lefty for Best Historical Mystery Novel (Bruce Alexander Memorial) for books covering events before 1960. 

This year’s nominees are:
Crowned and Dangerous by Rhys Bowen (Berkley Prime Crime)
A Death Along the River Fleet by Susanna Calkins (Minotaur Books)
The Murder of Mary Russell by Laurie R. King (Bantam Books)
The Reek of Red Herrings by Catriona McPherson (Minotaur Books)
What Gold Buys by Ann Parker (Poisoned Pen Press)

Lefty for Best Debut Mystery Novel. 

The nominees are
Cleaning Up Finn by Sarah M. Chen (All Due Respect Books)
Terror in Taffeta by Marla Cooper (Minotaur Books)
Murder in G Major by Alexia Gordon (Henery Press)
Decanting a Murder by Nadine Nettmann (Midnight Ink)
Design for Dying by Renee Patrick (Forge)

Lefty for Best Mystery Novel (not in other categories).

The nominees are
Dark Fissures by Matt Coyle (Oceanview Publishing)
Michelangelo’s Ghost by Gigi Pandian (Henery Press)
A Great Reckoning by Louise Penny (Minotaur Books)
The Necessary Murder of Nonie Blake by Terry Shames (Seventh Street Books)
Heart of Stone by James W. Ziskin (Seventh Street Books)

The Left Coast Crime Convention is an annual event sponsored by mystery fans, both readers and authors. Usually held in the western half of North America, LCC’s intent is to host an event where readers, authors, critics, librarians, publishers, and other fans can gather in convivial surroundings to pursue their mutual interests.  Lefty Awards have been given since 1996.

The 27th annual Left Coast Crime Convention will take place in Honolulu, Hawaii, March 16–19, 2017. Faye Kellerman and Jonathan Kellerman will be honoured with Left Coast Crime Lifetime Achievement Awards. This year’s Guests of Honor are authors DanaStabenow (American Guest of Honor) and Colin Cotterill (International Guest of Honor).

Author Laurie R. King will serve as Toastmaster. 

No comments: