Saturday, 6 June 2009

CWA Dagger Shortlists announced

The Crime Writers Association of Great Britain have announced the short-lists for the CWA International Dagger, The CWA Short Story Dagger, The CWA Dagger in the Library and the CWA Debut Dagger.

Last year the winner of the International Dagger was Dominique Manotti with the Lorraine Connection. Martin Edwards won the Short Story Dagger with his story The Bookbinder's Apprentice. The Dagger in the Library went to Craig Russell while the Debut Dagger was won by Amer Anwar with Western Fringes.

This year The International Dagger certainly has a Scandinavian flair to it with 5 out of the 6 short-listed novels having been written by a Scandinavian author. The only exception is Fred Vargas who has once again been short-listed and who has already won the International Dagger twice. Once in 2007 with Wash this Blood Clean From My Hand and in 2006 with The Three Evangelists.

The Short Story Dagger shortlist has been equally split between UK and US authors and includes a number of well-known names and a relative newcomer to some in the UK scene in the presence of Sean Chercover.

The Dagger in the Library short list covers a wide spectrum which includes the historical, police procedural and thriller sub-genres of crime fiction.

The awards will be given out on July 15 at the Tiger, Tiger Bar, in London. The same evening the short-lists for the Gold Dagger, John Creasey (New Blood) and Ian Fleming Steel Dagger will be announced.

Congratulations to all the nominees!

1 comment:

Roger Cornwell said...

Thanks for the mention: you're too modest to mention all the hard work you did as one of the judges for the Short Story Dagger.

Readers can comment on the books shortlisted for the International Dagger on our forum at, and also on books they would like to see on the shortlist for the Gold Dagger, which will be revealed on 15 July.

To be eligible, books must have been published in the UK between 1 June 2008 and 31 May 2009 -- US and other publication dates are almost guaranteed to be different.

Roger Cornwell (CWA webmaster)