Friday, 28 January 2011


1934 – 2011

Historical mystery writer dies at the age of 77.
Ariana Franklin (Diana Norman) the author of the Mistress of the Art of Death Series featuring the fictional medieval pathologist Adelia Aguilar has died at the age of 77. Diana was the wife of the well-known and well-regarded film critic Barry Norman.

As Ariana Franklin she wrote four books in the Mistress of the Art of Death series. The first book in the series The Mistress of the Art of Death was published in 2007 and won the Ellis Peters Historical Dagger. It was also awarded the Flint Axe Award in Sweden. In 2008 it won the Sue Feder Memorial Historical Mystery (Macavity Award).

The Death Maze (US: The Serpent’s Tale) 2008 the second book in the series was shortlisted for the 2008 Ellis Peters Award.

Relics of the Dead (US: Grave Goods) the third book in the series was published in 2009.

The Assassins Prayer (US: The Murderous Possession) 2010 is the fourth book in the series.

Her 2006 novel City of Shadows was shortlisted for a Barry Award for Best novel in 2007.

Under the name Diana Norman she wrote a number of acclaimed historical novels.

More information can be found on the BBC website.

A 2008 interview with Ariana Franklin for Shotsmag can be found here.

1 comment:

Dean James said...

Just a gentle correction, Ayo. The fourth book in the US is entitled A Murderous Procession. This is indeed a sad loss. Her popularity in the US was growing rapidly.