Monday, 11 July 2011

New York Thrills!

The Shots Team haven’t been able to make Thrillerfest this year, but were delighted to see the results from the annual thriller awards from International Thriller Writers [ITW].

The awards were presented during a gala banquet and celebration held on Saturday, July 9 at the Grand Hyatt in New York City, the International Thriller Writers announced the winners of the 2011 Thriller Awards –

Best Hard Cover Novel:BAD BLOOD, John Sandford
Also nominated: The Reversal, by Michael Connelly (Little, Brown); Edge, by Jeffery Deaver (Simon & Schuster); The Burying Place, by Brian Freeman (Minotaur); and Skin, by Mo Hayder (Grove)

Best Paperback Original Novel:THE COLD ROOM, J.T. Ellison
Also nominated: Down Among the Dead Men, by Robert Gregory Browne (St. Martin’s); You Can’t Stop Me, by Max Allan Collins and Matthew Clemens (Pinnacle); Torn Apart, by Shane Gericke (Pinnacle); and The Venice Conspiracy, by John Trace (Hachette Digital)

Best First Novel:STILL MISSING, Chevy Stevens

Also nominated: The Things That Keep Us Here, by Carla Buckley (Random House); The Poacher’s Son, by Paul Doiron (Minotaur); The Insider, by Reece Hirsch (Berkley); and Drink the Tea, by Thomas Kaufman (Minotaur)

Best Short Story:THE GODS FOR VENGEANCE CRY, Richard Helms
Also nominated: “Second Wind,” by Mike Carey (from The New Dead: A Zombie Anthology, edited by Christopher Golden; St. Martin’s); “Blue on Black,” by Michael Connelly (The Strand Magazine); “Madeeda,” by Harley Jane Kozak (from Crimes By Midnight, edited by Charlaine Harris; Berkley); “Chasing the Dragon,” by Nicolas Kaufman (ChiZine Magazine); and “Long Time Dead,” by Mickey Spillane and Max Allan Collins (The Strand Magazine)

Also receiving special recognition during the ThrillerFest VI Awards Banquet:
R.L. Stine, ThrillerMaster - in recognition of his legendary career and outstanding contributions to the thriller genre

Joe McGinniss, True Thriller Award
Karin Slaughter, Silver Bullet Award

The Shots team – pass their best regards to all the winners and the nominated.

Photo © Ali Karim 2007 Hyatt New York

No comments: