Wednesday, 10 June 2015

CWA 2015 Dagger in the Library Award shortlist announced

Six authors have been shortlisted for the CWA 2015 Dagger in the Library award, sponsored by Dead Good Books.

The long listed authors were nominated by readers as crime lovers everywhere were invited to vote online for their three favourite authors. The most popular ten authors were whittled down to five by a panel of judges including previous winner Sharon Bolton, CWA Director Lucy Santos and a group of UK librarians.

Unlike most other literary prizes, the Dagger in the Library honours an author’s body of work to date, rather than a single title and an author must have published three books to be eligible for the award. Previous winners include Sharon Bolton, Belinda Bauer, Steve Mosby, Mo Hayder, Stuart MacBride and Alexander McCall Smith.

The short list, in alphabetical order:

Ann Cleeves                          (Pan Macmillan)
Mark Billingham                (Little, Brown)
Christopher Fowler         (Transworld)
Elly Griffiths                          (Quercus)
Peter James                         (Pan Macmillan)
Peter May                              (Quercus)

Chair of the Judging panel Mobeena Khan commented; "Many congratulations to all the shortlisted authors for this year’s “Dagger in the Library” award.  The judging panel were very impressed by the longlist of authors and their work and enjoyed reacquainting themselves with some authors and discovering some new ones. The list was wide ranging and covered a gamut of different types of crime fiction and we are looking forward to announcing the winner later on this month."

The winner will be announced at the annual CWA Awards Dinner on the 30th June.  

For more details please contact: Lynsey Dalladay, Senior Digital Marketing Manager, Penguin Random House UK at

No comments: