Wednesday, 2 June 2010

Awards - Nominations and winners

The 2010 Nero Award nominees have been announced –

This year, the nominees are:
The Fleet Street Murders by Charles Finch
Crack in the Lens by Steve Hockensmith
Faces of Gone by Brad Parks

The Nero Award is presented each year to an author for the best mystery written in the tradition of Rex Stout’s Nero Wolfe stories. It is presented at the Black Orchid Banquet, traditionally held on the first Saturday in December in New York City. The Nero Award celebrates literary excellence in the mystery genre.

The North American Branch of the International Association of Crime Writers announced that The Manual of Detection, by Jedediah Berry (Penguin), has won the 2010 Hammett Prize for “literary excellence in the field of crime writing.” Berry received his award during a special ceremony at the Bloody Words X Mystery Conference in Toronto, Canada.

The other nominees for the Hammett Prize were:-
Bury Me Deep by Megan Abbott (Simon & Schuster)
Devil’s Garden by Ace Atkins (Putnam)
The Long Fall by Walter Mosley (Riverhead)
The Way Home by George Pelecanos (Little Brown)

The Lambda Literary Awards were announced May 27 at the School of Visual Arts Theater in New York.

The winners in Mystery Fiction -

Best Lesbian Mystery:
Death of a Dying Man by J.M. Redmann (Bold Strokes Books)(Winner)
Command of Silence, by Paulette Callen (Spinsters Ink)
From Hell to Breakfast, by Joan Opyr (Blue Feather Books)
The Mirror and the Mask, by Ellen Hart (St. Martin’s/Minotaur)
Toasted, by Josie Gordon (Bella Books)

Best Gay Mystery
What We Remember by Michael Thomas Ford (Kensington Books)(Winner)
All Lost Things, by Josh Aterovis (P.D. Publishing)
Killer of Orchids, by Ralph Ashworth (State Street Press)
Murder in the Garden District, by Greg Herren (Alyson Books)
Straight Lies, by Rob Byrnes (Kensington Books)

Crime Writers of Canada have announced the winners of its 2010 Arthur Ellis Awards:-
Best Crime Novel: High Chicago by Howard Shrier (Vintage Canada/Random House)
Best First Crime Novel: The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley (Doubleday Canada)
Best French Language Crime Novel: Le mort du chemin des Arsène by Jean Lemieux (La courte échelle)
Best Juvenile Crime Novel: Haunted by Barbara Haworth Attard (HarperCollins)
Best Crime Non-fiction: Murder Without Borders by Terry Gould (Random House of Canada)
Best Crime Short Story: “Prisoner in Paradise” by Dennis Richard Murphy (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine [EQMM])
Best Unpublished First Crime Novel (The Unhanged Arthur): Corpse Flower by Gloria Ferris
The full list of Arthur Ellis nominees can be found here

The Derrick Murdoch Award was given to Peter Robinson. The award is the “Crime Writers of Canada’s Presidential prize for outstanding contributions to crime writing.”

Congratulations to all nominees and winners.

No comments: