Friday, 5 November 2010

2010 CWA Ellis Peters Historical Award

During an event held at Little Brown Publishers in their Library on Thursday 4 November 2010, the Ellis Peters Historical Dagger was awarded. The full list can be found here. The winner of the 2010 award was Rory Clements with his 16th C Thriller Revenger (John Murray).

Revenger is the second book in the series to feature his historical Elizabethan character John Shakespeare who is the older brother to play-writer Will Shakespeare. The first book in the series is Martyr and it was short-listed for the New Blood Dagger Award. The crime fiction critic Barry Forshaw who was also one of the judges made the announcement.

Rory Clements giving his acceptance speech can be seen in the video below.

(photographs and video Ayo Onatade)

Sponsors of the Ellis Peters Historical Award were the British Crime Writers’ Association, the Estate of Ellis Peters, Headline Book Publishing Company, and the Little, Brown Book Group. Rory Clements will receive £3,000 as part of his prize for the award.

CJ Sansom’s novel Heartstone came a close second.

Amongst those in attendance included Teresa Chris (his agent) Sam Eades from Headline Publishers who organised the event along with Little Brown Publishers (who were the hosts), Jane Wood from Quercus Publishers. Sue Lord From Mystery Women, critic Michael Carlson, Andrew Clarke and Chris Simmons from Crimesquad, critic and reviewer Jessica Mann, Myles Allfrey co-organiser of Crimefest Bristol, author NJ Cooper, Thalia Proctor, Selina Walker from Transworld, David Shelley, Julia Wisdom and of course my fellow SHOTS colleagues Mike Stotter and Ali Karim to name a few.

From Left to Right - Aly Monroe, Andrew Williams, Rory Clements, S J Parris and Andrew Taylor

No comments: