Tuesday, 9 November 2010

Newsy Stuff - Awards and nominations

The award season is not yet over –

The Romantic Times have released their nominations for the Reviewer Choice Awards. There are five categories for crime fiction and winners will be announced during the 2011 RT Book Lovers’ Convention, scheduled for April 6-10 2011 in Los Angeles.

The nominations are as follows:-

Best Contemporary Mystery:
212, by Alafair Burke (Harper)
Pray for Silence, by Linda Castillo (Minotaur)
Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter, by Tom Franklin (Morrow)On the Line, by S.J. Rozan (Minotaur)
Moonlight Mile, by Dennis Lehane (Morrow)

Best Historical Mystery:
City of Dragons, by Kelli Stanley (Minotaur)
An Impartial Witness, by Charles Todd (Morrow)
Royal Blood, by Rhys Bowen (Prime Crime)
The Demon’s Parchment, by Jeri Westerson (Minotaur)
Dark Road to Darjeeling, by Deanna Raybourn (Mira)

Best First Mystery:
Blacklands, by Belinda Bauer (Simon & Schuster)
The Ark, by Boyd Morrison (Touchstone)
Still Missing, by Chevy Stevens (St. Martin’s Press)
Murder at Mansfield Park, by Lynn Shepherd (St. Martin’s Griffin)
Devoured by D.E. Meredith (Minotaur)

Best Suspense/Thriller Novel:
Eight Days to Live, by Iris Johansen (St. Martin’s Press)
Broken, by Karin Slaughter (Delacorte)
Live to Tell, by Lisa Gardner (Bantam)
They’re Watching, by Gregg Hurwitz (St. Martin’s Press)
One Grave Less, by Beverly Connor (Obsidian)

Best Amateur Sleuth Novel:
Ghouls Gone Wild, by Victoria Laurie (Obsidian)
Bone Appetit, by Carolyn Haines (Minotaur)
Cat in an Ultramarine Scheme, by Carole Nelson Douglas (Forge)
The Quick and the Thread, by Amanda Lee (Obsidian)A Nose for Justice, by Rita Mae Brown (Ballantine)

Noircon which is dedicated to the work of David Goodis held their 2010 conference from 4- 7 November in Philadelphia recently.

George Pelecanos was awarded the David Leob Goodis Award in recognition of his continuing contribution and commitment to Literature, Film and Television in the spirit of David Goodis.

The Jay and Keen Kogan Award for Excellence in Publishing was presented to Johnny Temple in recognition of his publication of noir literature. Johnny Temple is the publisher of Akashic Books.

The Keynote speaker was Charles Benoit.

The VI Pepe Carvalho Prize for crime fiction has been awarded to Andreu Martin. The award ceremony will take place during the BCNegra crime festival in Barcelona, Spain, next February. Previous winners include Ian Rankin, P D James, Henning Mankell and Michael Connelly.

The BBC adaption of Sherlock Holmes has been nominated for five awards in this year’s Royal Television Society Craft and Design Awards. They are up for Music Original Score and Music Original Title, Photography- Drama, Effects - Picture Enhancement and Tape and Film Editing - Drama. The first series of Sherlock was an overwhelming success and a second series will be shown. Luther (Shown on BBC One) has also been nominated for Graphic Design - Titles.

No comments: