Wednesday, 1 July 2015

CWA Dagger Awards results and Shortlists

 Catherine Aird MBE was awarded the CWA Diamond Dagger at the CWA Dagger Dinner on Tuesday 30 June 2015.  The event took place at Hotel Russell (Off Russell Square).

Catherine Aird MBE

A number of Shortlists were announced on the evening at the CWA Dagger Dinner.  The various shortlists are as follows –

Richard Reynolds announcing  Gold Dagger Shortlist
CWA Goldsboro Gold Dagger Shortlist
 The Shut Eye by Belinda Bauer (Transworld Publishers/Bantam Press)
The Rules of Wolfe by James Carlos Blake (Oldcastle Books/No Exit Press)
The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith (Little, Brown Book Group/Sphere)
Missing by Sam Hawken (Profile Books/Serpent's Tail)
Mr Mercedes by  Stephen King (Hodder & Stoughton)
Pleasantville by Attica Locke (Profile Books/Serpent's Tail)
Life or Death by Michael Robotham (Little, Brown Book Group/Sphere)

CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger Shortlist
The Abrupt Physics of Dying by Paul E Hardisty (Orenda Books)
Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng (Little, Brown Book Group)
Fourth of July Creek by Smith Henderson (Random House/William Heinemann)
The Girl in the Red Coat by Kate Hamer (Faber and Faber)
You by Caroline Kepnes (Simon & Schuster)  

CWA Ian Fleming Shortlist
Missing by Sam Hawken (Profile Books/Serpent's Tail)
The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins (Transworld Publishers/Doubleday)
Nobody Walks by Mick Herron (Soho Crime)
The White Van by Patrick Hoffman (Atlantic Books Ltd/Grove Press)
The Night The Rich Men Burned by Malcolm Mackay (Pan Macmillan/Mantle)
Cop Town by Karin Slaughter (Random House/Century)
The Kind Worth Killing by Peter Swanson (Faber and Faber)

The full long list can be found here.

Also announced were the winners of the following Daggers –

Frank Wynne accepting award for International Dagger
The International Dagger
Falling Freely, As If In A Dream by Leif GW Persson (tr Paul Norlen) – (Transworld).
*Camille by Pierre Lemaitre (tr Frank Wynne) (Quercus).
by Deon Meyer (tr K.L Seegers)(Hodder & Stoughton)
Arab Jazz by Karim Miské (tr Sam Gordon)(MacLehose Press).
The Invisible Guardian by Dolores Redondo (tr Isabelle Kaufeler) (HarperCollins).

Into a Raging Blaze by Andreas Norman (tr Ian Giles) (Quercus).

The Short Story Dagger
*Apocrypha by Richard Lange – Sweet Nothing (Mulholland Press)
Red Eye by Michael Connelly and Dennis Lehane – Face Off  (Sphere)
The Hunter by Dashiell Hammett – The Hunter & Other Stories (No Exit Press)
Sweet Nothing by Richard Lange – Sweet Nothing (Mulholland Press)
Juror 8 by Stuart Neville – OxCrimes  (Profile Books)
The Dead Their Eyes Implore Us by George Pelecanos – OxCrimes (Profile Books)

The Non Fiction Dagger
*In Plain Sight: The Life and Lies of Jimmy Saville by Dan Davies (Quercus)
Dan Davies winner Non-Fiction Dagger
A Kim Jong-Il Production by Paul Fischer (Penguin)
Ghettoside: Investigating a Homicide Epidemic by Jill Leovy (Bodley Head)
Gun Baby Gun: A Bloody Journey into the World of the Gun by Iain Overton (Canongate)
One of Us: The Story of Anders Breivik and the Massacre in Norway by Ǻsne Seierstad (Virago)

Just Mercy: A story of Justice and Redemption by Bryan Stevenson (Scrib)

Endeavour Historical Dagger
Havana Sleeping by Martin Davies (Hodder & Stoughton)
SG MacLean Winner Historical Dagger
Lamentation by C. J. Sansom (Mantle)
The Man from Berlin by Luke McCallin (No Exit Press)
*The Seeker by S. G. MacLean (Quercus)
The Silent Boy by Andrew Taylor (Harper Collins)

The Taxidermist’s Daughter by Kate Mosse (Orion)

Debut Dagger
Dark Chapter by Winnie M Li
*Last Of The Soho Legends by Greg Keen
The Ice Coffin by Jill Sawyer
The Pure Drop by Nigel Robbins
Lock Me In by Kate Simants

Dagger in the Library
Ann Cleeves (Macmillan)
Mark Billingham (Little Brown)
*Christopher Fowler (Transworld Publishers)
Elly Griffiths (Quercus)
Peter James (Macmillan)
Peter May (Quercus)
* = Winners
Christopher Fowler Dagger in the Library Winner


The Dead Their Eyes Implore Us by George Pelecanos – OxCrimes (Profile Books) was also highly commended in the Short Story category

Dark Chapter by Winnie M Li was also highly commended in the Debut Dagger category.

Congratulations to all the winners and nominated authors.

The winners of the CWA Goldsboro Gold Dagger, CWA John Creasey (New Blood Dagger) and the Ian Fleming Steel Dagger will be announced at a ceremony in September 2015.

All photographs copyright Ayo Onatade 2015.

No comments: