Thursday, 7 October 2010

Specsavers ITV3 Thriller Awards Results

The Specsavers Thriller Awards took place on Friday 8th October 2010 at the Grosvenor Park Hotel, Park Lane, London. It is the third year that the event has taken place and the second year that it has been sponsored by Specsavers in conjunction with the Crime Writers Association of Great Britain (CWA). The awards ceremony was hosted by Marcus Brigstocke and took place in the ballroom of the Grosvenor Park Hotel in the presence of a number of crime writers and actors including Philip Glenister, Nathaniel Parker, Rupert Penry Jones, Benedict Cumberbatch, Julia McKenzie, Colin Dexter, Amanda Redman and Dennis Waterman to name a few. CWA members that were present included Edwin Thomas (the current Chair of the CWA) Marry Forshaw, Mike Stotter, Michelle Spring, Margaret Murphy, Phillip Gooden, Mark Billingham, Margaret Kinsman and David Headley.

The CWA Awards that were given are as follows –

The CWA Gold Dagger was awarded to Belinda Bauer and was presented by Amanda Redman.

The shortlist consisted of
Blacklands by Belinda Bauer Corgi/Transworld
Blood Harvest by S J Bolton Bantam Press/Transworld
Shadowplay by Karen Campbell Hodder & Stoughton
The Way Home by George Pelecanos Orion

The CWA Ian Fleming Steel
Dagger (sponsored by Ian Fleming Publications Ltd) went to Simon Conway and was presented to him by Alex Norton and Blythe Duff of the Bill.

The shortlist consisted of -
A Loyal Spy by Simon Conway Hodder & Stoughton
Innocent by Scott Turow Mantle
The Dying Light by Henry Porter Orion
The Gentlemen's Hour by Don Winslow Heinemann/Random House

The CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger was awarded to Ryan David Jahn and was presented to him by Ray Mears .

The shortlist was made up of -
Acts of Violence by Ryan David Jahn Macmillan New Writing
Rupture by Simon Lelic Picador
The Holy Thief by William Ryan Mantle
The Pull of the Moon by Diane Janes Constable & Robinson

A number of awards were also presented in the film and acting category

The winner of the Film Dagger was Inception and was presented by Nathaniel Parker.

The complete shortlist was as follows:-
District 9 (Sony Pictures)
Inception (Warner Bros)
Sherlock Holmes (Warner Bros)
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Momentum Pictures)

The winner of the TV Dagger was Sherlock Holmes and the award was presented to Benedict Cumberbatch by Harriet Walter and Laila Russo.

The complete shortlist for the TV Daggers were -
Ashes to Ashes (Series 3) (Kudos)
Luther (BBC)
Sherlock (BBC)
Wallander (Series 2) (Left Bank Pictures)

The winner of the International TV Dagger was Wallender and the award was presented by Matt di Angelo and Kelly Adams from the Hustle.

The shortlist was as follows:-
Damages (Season 3) (Sony Pictures)
The Good Wife (Season 1) (CBS)
Wallander (Series 2) (Yellow Bird Films)

The Best Actress Dagger was won by Maxine Peake and was presented to her by Denis Lawson

The Shortlist for the Best Actress Dagger consisted of -
Glenn Close (Damages)
Hermione Norris (Spooks)
Keeley Hawes (Ashes to Ashes & Identity)
Maxine Peake (Criminal Justice)
Sue Johnston (Waking the Dead)

The Best Actor Dagger was awarded to Benedict Cumberbatch and was presented to him by Emilia Fox

The Best Actor Dagger shortlist consisted of -
Benedict Cumberbatch (Sherlock)
Idris Elba (Luther)
Kenneth Branagh (Wallander)
Philip Glenister (Ashes to Ashes)

The winner of the Best Supporting Actress Dagger was Dervla Kirwan who received her award from Philip Glenister and Mark Warren.

Those on the shortlist were -
Dervla Kirwan (The Silence)
Gina McKee (The Silence)
Saskia Reeves (Luther)
Sophie Okonedo (Criminal Justice)

The Best Supporting Actor Dagger went to Matthew MacFadyen who presented with his award by Katy Brand

The short list consisted of -
Laurence Fox (Lewis)
Matthew Macfadyen (Criminal Justice)
Rupert Graves (Sherlock)
Tom Hiddleston (Wallander)

The winner of the public's People's detective vote was Christopher Foyle. The award was presented by Hugh Bonniville and Joan Froggett.

The short list consisted of -
Tom Barnaby
Christopher Foyle
Jack Frost
Sherlock Holmes
Robbie Lewis
Miss Jane Marple
Endeavour Morse
Hercule Poirot
John Rebus
Jane Tennison
Reg Wexford
Charles Wycliffe

George Pelecanos and Frederick Forsyth was inducted into the Hall of Fame as well. Pelecanos in his acceptance speech said that he was proud to be a crime writer and one of "us"

The television programme The Bill was presented with a special recognition award.

Congratulations to all the winners and the nominees. The ceremony will be transmitted on ITV3 on October 12.

No comments: