Saturday, 7 July 2012

CWA Dagger Awards

On Thursday 5 July 2012 Crime Writers’ Association (CWA) announced the winners of half a dozen of its annual Dagger Awards at a dinner held at The Library, One Birdcage Walk, London.  There were over 160 people in attendance at the dinner. The winners were -

CWA International Dagger: The Potter’s Field, by Andrea Camilleri, translated by Stephen Sartarelli (Mantle)

CWA Non-fiction Dagger: The Eleventh Day, by Anthony Summers and Robbyn Swan (Transworld/Doubleday) (Sponsored by the ALCS)

CWA Short Story Dagger: Tie — “The Message,” by Margaret Murphy (from Murder Squad: Best Eaten Cold and Other Stories, edited by Martin Edwards; The Mystery Press) and “Laptop,” by Cath Staincliffe (from Murder Squad: Best Eaten Cold and Other Stories)

CWA Ellis Peters Historical Dagger: Icelight, by Aly Monroe 
(John Murray)

CWA Dagger in the Library: Steve Mosby (Sponsored by Random House)

CWA Debut Dagger: Beached, by Sandy Gingras (Sponsored by Orion)

A full list of the short listed titles for the above awards can be found here.  The short lists were announced at Crimefest in Bristol earlier this year.

The event also included the presentation of the CWA’s 2012 Diamond Dagger Award to Frederick Forsyth author of The Day of the Jackal (1971), The Odessa File (1972) The Dogs of War (1974), The Fourth Protocol (1984) to name a few.  Frederick Forsyth was introduced by last year’s recipient of the Diamond Dagger Lindsey Davis.

A number of the Dagger long lists were also announced that evening and they are as follows-

The John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger

The Doll Princess by Tom Benn (Jonathan Cape)
Heart-Shaped Bruise by Tanya Byrne, (Headline)
A Land More Kind than Home by Wiley Cash, (Transworld/Bantam)
So Much Pretty by Cara Hoffman, (Century)
Good People by Ewart Hutton, (HarperCollins)
Turn of Mind by Alice LaPlante, (Harvill Secker)
The Expats by Chris Pavone, (Faber & Faber)
What Dies in Summer by Tom Wright, (Canongate)

The Ian Fleming Steel Dagger

Dare Me by Megan Abbott (Picador)
The Shadow Patrol by Alex Berenson (Headline)
A Foreign Country by Charles Cumming (HarperCollins)
The Fear Index by Robert Harris (Hutchinson)
The Dispatcher by Ryan David Jahn (Macmillan)
Uncommon Enemy by Alan Judd (Simon & Schuster)
The Child Who by Simon Lelic (Mantle)
Reamde by Neal Stephenson (Atlantic Books)

The Gold Dagger
A Land More Kind than Home by Wiley Cash (Transworld/Bantam)
Vengeance in Mind by N. J. Cooper (Simon & Schuster)
Grandad, There’s a Head on the Beach by Colin Cotterill (Quercus)
The Flight by M. R. Hall (Mantle)
The Rage - Gene Kerrigan (Vintage)
Turn of Mind by Alice LaPlante (Harvill Secker)
The Child Who by Simon Lelic (Mantle)
Bereft by Chris Womersley (Quercus)

The Press Release can be found here.

The CWA also announced an ongoing partnership with Cactus TV over the Specsavers ITV3 Crime Thriller Awards.

No comments: