Sunday, 15 July 2012

ITW Thriller Award Winners 2012

During a ceremony at this weekend’s ThrillerFest VII in New York City, winners of the 2012 Thriller Awards were announced.  The  winners are as follows:

Best Hardcover Novel: 
11/22/63, by Stephen King (Scribner)
Also nominated were
Buried Secrets, by Joseph Finder (St. Martin’s Press);
A Hard Death, by Jonathan Hayes (Harper); 
The Ridge, by Michael Koryta (Little, Brown);  
The Two Deaths of Daniel Hayes, by Marcus Sakey (Dutton)

Best First Novel: 
Spiral, by Paul McEuen (The Dial Press)
Also nominated were -
The Genesis Key, by James Barney (Harper); 
She Can Run, by Melinda Leigh (Montlake Romance); 
The Fund, by H.T. Narea (Forge);
Midnight Caller, by Leslie Tentler (Mira)

Best Paperback Original: 
The Last Minute, by Jeff Abbott (Sphere/Little, Brown UK)
Also nominated: 
Threat Warning, by John Gilstrap (Pinnacle); 
The Glass Demon, by Helen Grant (Delacorte Press); 
The Queen, by Steven James (Revell);
Already Gone, by John Rector (Thomas & Mercer)

Best Short Story: 
Half-Lives,” by Tim L. Williams (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine [EQMM], March-April 2011)
Also nominated:
One More Lie,” by James Scott Bell (Compendium Press);
Anything to Win,” by Michael Z. Lewin (The Strand Magazine, June-September 2011);
Happine$$,” by Twist Phelan (from Mystery Writers of America Presents The Rich and the Dead, edited by Nelson DeMille; Grand Central);
A Hostage Situation,” by Dave Zeltserman (EQMM, September-October 2011)

True-crime writer Ann Rule was presented with the True Thriller Award.
Novelist Jack Higgins (aka Harry Patterson) acted as the convention’s ThrillerMaster.

Huge congratulations to everyone!

No comments: