Tuesday, 16 July 2013

2013 Crime Writers Association Dagger winners and long list announcements

A number of the CWA Daggers were announced on Monday 15 July 2013 at the Dagger Dinner that were held at King’s Place in North London.

The announcement of the Daggers Awards is always an exciting moment in the CWA’s calendar” says CWA chair Alison Joseph. “For months our judges have been reading all the entries, in all the categories, and once again their shortlists show their care, discernment and thoughtfulness”.
Frederick Forsyth last year’s winner of the Diamond Dagger was present to introduce and award the Diamond Dagger to this year’s recipient Lee Child.

The International Dagger was shared between two novels for the very first time. The two novels were the –
Ghost Riders of Ordebec by Fred Vargas, translated by Siân Reynolds, and Alex by Pierre Lemaitre, translated by Frank Wynne. 

The other books on the short list were-
The Missing File by D A Mishani, translated by Steven Cohen (Quercus)
Two Soldiers by Roslund & Hellström, translated by Kari Dickson (Quercus)
Death in Sardinia by Marco Vichi, translated by Stephen Sartarelli (Hodder & Stoughton)
The Collini Case by Ferdinand von Schirach, translated by Anthea Bell (Michael Joseph)

The Short Story Dagger was awarded to Stella Duffy for her story Come way With Me in The Mammoth Book of Best British Crime Volume 10 (edited by Maxim Jakubowski)

The other stories on the Short list were –
Method Murder by Simon Brett (The Mammoth Book of Best British Crime Volume 10 edited by Maxim Jakubowski)
Stairway C by Piero Colaprico (Outsiders, edited by Ben Faccini (MacLehose Press))
The Case of Death and Honey by Neil Gaiman (The Mammoth Book of Best British Crime Volume 10 edited by Maxim Jakubowski)
Ferengi by Carlo Lucarelli (Outsiders, edited by Ben Faccini (MacLehose Press))
Lost and Found by Zoë Sharp (Vengeance, edited by Lee Child (Corvus))

The Dagger in the Library was awarded to Belinda Bauer whose latest novel is Rubbernecker.
The other short listed authors were:-
Christopher Fowler
Alison Bruce
Gordon Ferris
Elly Griffiths
Michael Ridpath

The CWA Non-Fiction Dagger was awarded to Midnight in Peking by Paul French.
The other shortlisted authors were
The Boy in the River by Richard Hoskins (Pan Macmillan)
Against a Tide of Evil by Mukesh Kapila (with Damien Lewis) (Mainstream)
A Fine Day for a Hanging by Carol Ann Lee (Mainstream)
Injustice by Clive Stafford Smith (Random House)
Murder at Wrotham Hill by Diana Souhami (Quercus)

The CWA Debut Dagger was awarded to Finn Clarke for Call Time
The other nominated authors were –
The Assassin’s Keeper by Aine O Domhnaill (Ireland) 
TAG by Sue Dawes (UK) TAG
Working in Unison by Alex Sweeney (UK) 
Lesson Plan for Murder by Marie Hannan-Mandel (USA) 
Honour or Justice by Ron Puckering (UK) 
Torment by David Evans (UK) 
When the Bow Breaks by Jayne Barnard (Canada) 
Fighting Darkness: The Killer Trail by DB Carew (Canada) 
Born in a Burial Gown by Mike Craven (UK) 
The Journeyman by Emma Melville (UK) 
A Cure for All Evils by Joanna Dodd (UK) 

The CWA Ellis Peters Historical Dagger was awarded to Andrew Taylor for his novel A Scent of Death.  This is the third time he has won this awarded.  He won his first Dagger in 2001 for Office of the Dead and the second one in 2003 for An American Boy.

The other nominated stories were –
The Heretics by Rory Clements (John Murray)
Pilgrim Soul by Gordon Ferris (Corvus)
The Paris Winter by Imogen Robertson (Headline)
Dead Men and Broken Hearts by Craig Russell (Quercus)
The Twelfth Department by William Ryan (Mantle)

A number of long lists were also announced.  The lists will be whittled down to a shortlist of four later in the summer, with the eventual winner being revealed as part of the Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards in the autumn.

Gold Dagger
Rubbernecker by Belinda Bauer  (Bantam/Transworld)
The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes  (HarperCollins)
Tequila Sunset by Sam Hawken (Serpent’s Tail)
Dead Lions by Mick Herron (Soho Crime)
Rage Against the Dying by Becky Masterman  (Orion)
Breakdown by Sara Paretsky (Hodder & Stoughton)
Say You’re Sorry by Michael Robotham (Sphere)
The Kings of Cool by Don Winslow (Heinemann

Ian Fleming Steel Dagger
Ghostman by Roger Hobbs (Transworld)
The Uninvited by Liz Jensen (Bloomsbury)
The Necessary Death of Lewis Winter by Malcolm Mackay (Pan Macmillan)
Ratlines by Stuart Neville (Random House)
The Sentinel by Mark Oldfield (Head of Zeus)
The Poison Tide by Andrew Williams (John Murray)
Capital Punishment by Robert Wilson (Orion)

John Creasey Dagger Award
 Ghostman by Roger Hobbs (Doubleday)
Something You Are by Hanna Jameson (Head of Zeus)
The Necessary Death of Lewis Winter by Malcolm Mackay  (Mantle)
Rage Against the Dying by Becky Masterman (Orion)
Norwegian by Night by Derek B Miller (Faber and Faber)
Shadow of the Rock by Thomas Mogford (Bloomsbury)
The City Of Shadows by Michael Russell (Avon)
City of Blood by M D Villiers (Harvill Secker)

No comments: