Sunday, 4 October 2020

2020 DAVITT AWARDS: Sisters in Crime Australia


Sisters in Crime Australia announced the winners of the Davitt Awards, named for Ellen Davitt (1812-1879), Australia’s first crime novelist, who wrote Australia's first mystery novel, Force and Fraud (1865).

Best Adult Crime Novel
The Trespassers by Meg Mundell (University of Queensland Press)

Best Young Adult Crime Novel
Four Dead Queens by Astrid Scholte (Allen & Unwin)

Best Children’s Crime Novel
The Girl in the Mirror by Jenny Blackford (Eagle Books, an imprint of Christmas Press)

Best Non-fiction Crime Book
Banking Bad: Whistleblowers. Corporate cover-ups. One journalist’s fight for the truth by Adele Ferguson (ABC Books, a HarperCollins Australia imprint)

Best Debut Crime Book
Eight Lives by Susan Hurley (Affirm Press)

Readers' Choice Awards:

Darkness for Light by Emma Viskic (Echo Publishing) and The Scholar by Dervla McTiernan (HarperCollins Publishers Australia) are joint winners of the Readers’ Choice Award, as judged by the 500+ members of Sisters in Crime.

No comments: