Friday, 16 October 2009

Bouchercon 2009 - Indianapolis - Elementary dear Indy!

Some awards have already been given out at Bouchercon 2009 on Thursday night and they are as follows:-

Derringer: Edward D. Hoch Memorial Award for short story lifetime achievement -- Clark Howard

Crimespree Awards

Crimespree Awards: Jack Reacher Award -- William Kent Krueger
Crimespree Contributor of the Year -- Jeremy Lynch
Best Paperback Original -- Money Shot by Christa Faust
Favorite Novel -- Trigger City by Sean Chercover
Favorite in an Ongoing Series -- Chasing Darkness by Robert Crais
Favorite graphic novel writer -- Brian Azzarello

Macavity Awards

Best Historical Mystery -- A Royal Pain by Rhys Bowen
Best short story -- "The Night Things Changed" by Dana Cameron in Wolfsbane & Mistletoe
Best non-fiction/critical -- African American Mystery Writers by Frankie Bailey Best first mystery -- The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson
Best mystery novel -- Where Memories Lie by Deborah Crombie

Barry Awards

Lifetime achievement in mystery fandom -- Art Scott
Best short story -- "The Drought" by James O. Born from The Blue Religion (edited by Michael Connelly)
Best paperback original -- State of the Onion by Julie Hyzy
Best British novel -- The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson
Best thriller -- The Deceived by Brett Battles
Best first novel -- Child 44 by Tom Rob Smith
Best novel -- The Draining Lake by Arnaldur Indridason

Congratulations to all the winners!

1 comment:

Michael Carlson said...

The Barry Awards get one right: Draining Lake is a fine novel, but one wrong: how can a Swedish novel win the best British novel award! Barry, barry silly...