Saturday, 6 October 2012

Shamus Award results

Shamus Award winners Michael Wiley and Duane Swierczynski 
(© 2012 Ali Karim).

The Private Eye Writers of America gave out the Shamus Awards on Friday evening.  The prizes were awarded during a riverboat dinner ceremony.
The results are as follows -

Best Hardcover P.I. Novel:
A Bad Night’s Sleep, by Michael Wiley (Minotaur)
The other nominees were -
Bye Bye Baby by Max Allan Collins (Forge);
1222, by Anne Holt (Scribner);
When the Thrill Is Gone, by Walter Mosley (Riverhead);
The Highly Effective Detective Crosses the Line, by Richard Yancey (Minotaur)

Best First P.I. Novel:
The Shortcut Man, by P.G. Sturges (Scribner)
Also nominated were -
The Plot Against Hip Hop, by Nelson George (Akashic);
Claire DeWitt and the City of the Dead, by Sara Gran (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt);
The Ocean Forest, by Troy D. Nooe (Ingalls);
The Stranger You Seek, by Amanda Kyle Williams (Bantam Press)

Best Paperback Original P.I. Novel:
Fun & Games, by Duane Swierczynski (Mulholland)
Also nominated were -
Quarry’s Ex, by Max Allan Collins (Hard Case Crime);
Threat Warning, by John Gilstrap (Kensington);
Serial, by John Lutz (Kensington);
Long Pig, by James L. Ross (Perfect Crime)

Best P.I. Short Story:
Who I Am,” by Michael Z. Lewin (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, December 2011)
Also nominated were -
A Bullet from Yesterday,” by Terence Faherty (EQMM, January 2011);
Mr Monk & the Sunday Paper,” by Lee Goldberg (EQMM, July 2011);
Vampire Slayer Murdered in Key West,” by Michael West (EQMM, September/October 2011);
Dancer in a Storm,” by L.A. Wilson (Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine, January/February 2011)

The Hammer--a commendation celebrating a memorable private-eye character or series, and named after Mickey Spillane’s Mike Hammer--was presented to Nate Heller the character created by Max Allan Collins.

No comments: