Sunday, 27 April 2014

2014 Arthur Ellis Awards Shortlists and CWC Grand Master Award

Crime Writers of Canada announced the 2014 Arthur Ellis Awards Shortlists, and the winner of the CWC Grand Master Award for Crime Writing in Canada.

This is the inaugural year of the CWC Grand Master Award, intended to recognize Canadian crime writers who have a substantial body of work that has garnered national and international recognition.

This year’s winner of the CWC Grand Master Award is Howard Engel, the author of the award winning Benny Cooperman detective series. A mainstay of the Canadian crime writing scene for many years, Mr. Engel helped put Canadian crime writing on the map at a time when few mysteries were set in this country.

Excellence in Crime Writing Best Novel
Walls of a Mind by Jon Brooke (Signature Editions)
The Devil’s Making by Seán Haldane (Stone Flower Press)
Presto Variations by Lee Lamothe (Dundurn)
Miss Montreal by Howard Shrier (Vintage Canada)
An Inquiry into Love and Death by Simone St. James (Penguin Books)

Best First Novel
Almost Criminal by E.R. Brown (Dundurn)
The Silent Wife by A.S.A. Harrison (Penguin Books Canada)
Hot Sinatra by Axel Howerton (Evolved Publishing)
Messum, Bait by J Kent (Penguin Canada)
Die on Your Feet by S.G Wong (Carina Press)

Best Novella,
The Goddaughter’s Revenge by Melodie Campbell (Orca Books)
My Sister’s Keeper by Brenda Chapman (Grassroots Press)
A Woman Scorned by James Heneghan (Orca Books 1)

Best Short Story 
Watermelon Weekend by Donna Carrick in Thirteen, (Carrick Publishing),
Under Cap Ste. Claire by Jas. R. Petrin in Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine, October 2013, (Dell Magazines)
Footprints in Water by Twist Phelan in Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, July 2013, (Dell Magazines)
The Emerald Skull by Sylvia Maultash Warsh in Thirteen (Carrick Publishing)
The Third Echo by Sam Wiebe in Girl Trouble: Malfeasance Occasional, (MacMillan/St Martin’s Press)

Best Book in French 
Saccages by Chrystine Brouillet (La courte échelle),
Et à l'heure de votre mort by Jacques Côté (éditions Alire)
L’enfant promis by Maureen Martineau (La courte échelle)
Le fils emprunté by Jacques Savoie (Éditions Libre Expression)

Best Juvenile/YA 
Apparition by Gail Gallant, (Doubleday Canada)
Bones Never Lie: How Forensics Helps Solve History’s Mysteries by Elizabeth MacLeod (Annick Press)
Who I’m Not by Ted Staunton (Orca Books)

Unhanged Arthur 
Death at the Iron House Lodge by L.J. Gordon
Cold Girl by Rachel Greenaway
The Snow Job by Charlotte Morganti
Descent by Kristina Stanley
Coiled by Kevin Thornton

Crime Writers of Canada was founded in 1982 as a professional organisation designed to raise the profile of Canadian crime writers from coast to coast. Members include authors, publishers, editors, booksellers, librarians, reviewers, and literary agents as well as many developing authors.

1 comment:

Kristina Stanley said...

Thank you for posting this. As an author with my novel nominated for the Unhanged Arhur, I'm very executed to see my name here. Kristina