Saturday 28 October 2023

The Glencairn Glass Crime Short Story Competition


Do you have a knack for conjuring up sinister plots, capturing the perfect crime, or documenting deadly deeds? If so, this is your chance to showcase your talent. Glencairn Crystal, the maker of the world’s favourite whisky glass – the Glencairn Glass, and sponsor of the McIlvanney and Bloody Scotland Debut crime writing awards, is seeking crime short stories in collaboration with Bloody Scotland and Scottish Field Magazine. This year’s theme is ‘A Crime Set In Scotland.’


Short stories must be 2,000 words or less.

The competition is open to all writers worldwide, published and unpublished, who are over 16 years old by 23rd October 2023.

Stories entered for the competition should not have been previously published in any format, online or print, self-published or paid.


The short story must be based on the theme ‘A Crime Story Set In Scotland


First prize – £1000 Runner Up – £500

Both winners will also receive a set of six bespoke engraved Glencairn Glasses.

The overall winning entry will be published in Scottish Field Magazine and online at


Callum McSorley, this year’s Bloody Scotland McIlvanney Prize winner for the Scottish Crime Book of the Year.

Kate Foster, this year’s Bloody Scotland Scottish Crime Debut of the Year winner.

Gordon Brown, who also writes under the name Morgan Cry, has had eleven crime and thriller books published to date.

Closing Date

All entries should be uploaded below by midnight on Sunday 31st December 2023. Please click here to see to terms and conditions.

No comments: