Tuesday, 6 May 2014

The 2014 Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Long list

Giants of the genre are pitted against each other as the longlist is announced for the tenth Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award.

One of the most prestigious crime writing prizes in the country, 2014 sees past winners Lee Child, Mark Billingham and Denise Mina in the running.
Lee Child who won the Award in 2011 returns to the longlist with his 17th Jack Reacher novel, A Wanted Man. Sizing up to the phenomenal bestseller is two-time award winner, Mark Billingham for his Tom Thorne novel, The Dying Hours.

Denise Mina, who has won the past two years’ could make it a hat trick and defend her title with her brilliantly plotted The Red Road, said to rival Ian Rankin’s best. Number one bestseller Ian Rankin also represents Tartan Noir, with Standing in Another Man’s Grave, his first new Rebus novel in five years.

A new Scot is on the block to take on the old guard, Malcolm Mackay is also the only debut author to feature on the longlist with The Necessary Death of Lewis Winter. The first in a trilogy, it’s been praised as an intriguingly odd, remarkably original debut.
South African author Lauren Beukes’ The Shining Girls was a phenomenal bestseller and after being praised by Stephen King, it’s a hot contender.

Irish author Stuart Neville’s first three novels were previously longlisted for this award, and he’s back this year with his hugely gripping thriller, Ratlines. Stav Sherez is also back on the longlist with Eleven Days, his superior police procedural and sequel to A Dark Redemption.
No stranger to awards Belinda Bauer is the CWA 2010 Gold Dagger Award-winning author; her latest novel Rubbernecker has received glowing reviews.
Elly Griffiths also makes an appearance with her intriguing crime story, Dying Fall, which effortlessly brings together neo-Nazis, New Age hippies in Blackpool Pleasure Beach.
Now in its tenth year, the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award was created to celebrate the very best in crime writing and is open to crime authors whose novels were published in paperback from 1 May 2013 to 30 April 2014. The 2014 Award is run in partnership with T&R Theakston Ltd, WHSmith, and Radio Times.
The long list, comprising 18 titles, is selected by an academy of crime writing authors, agents, editors, reviewers, members of the Crime Writing Festival Programming Committee and representatives from T&R Theakston Ltd and WHSmith.

The books and authors are as follows -

Rubbernecker by Belinda Bauer
The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes
The Dying Hours by Mark Billingham
Like This, For Ever by Sharon Bolton
A Wanted Man by Lee Child
The Honey Guide by Richard Crompton
The Cry by Helen Fitzgerald
Dying Fall by Elly Griffiths
Until You’re Mine by Samantha Hayes
The Necessary Death of Lewis Winter by Malcolm Mackay
The Chessmen by Peter May
I Hear The Sirens In The Street by Adrian McKinty
The Red Road by Denise Mina
Ratlines by Stuart Neville
Standing in Another Man’s Grave by Ian Rankin
Children of the Revolution by Peter Robinson
Eleven Days by Stav Sherez
Weirdo by Cathi Unsworth

The award, run in partnership with T & R Theakston, WHSmith and Radio Times, was created to celebrate the very best in crime writing and is open to British and Irish authors whose novels were published in paperback over the previous twelve months.  The winning author receives a cash prize of £3000 and a handmade, engraved beer barrel provided by Theakstons Old Peculier.

The names of the six short listed titles will be announced on 1 July and readers – will be able to help decide which of the six short listed authors will take home the most coveted title in crime fiction, a prize of £3,000 and a hand-carved Theakstons cask, by casting your vote online at: www.theakstons.co.uk.

The result of the online vote will be counted alongside the votes of the expert judging panel in order to determine the 2014 winner.

The Judges
Forming the 2014 judging panel are 2014 Festival Programming Chair Steve Mosby, WHSmith’s Head of Fiction David Swillman and Executive Director of title sponsor, T&R Theakston Simon Theakston and TV Editor at Radio Times, Alison Graham.

Nationwide crime spree hits WHSmith!
The 18 long listed books will be available to buy in WHSmith stores nationwide from 22 May – 19 June, and the 6 short listed books will feature in all stores from 3 July –31 July.

No comments: