Thursday 25 July 2019

Capital Crime Announces Amazon Publishing Readers Awards Shortlist

Capital Crime and Amazon Publishing have partnered to present innovative new awards that give readers the power to honour their favourite books, films & TV

London 25th July 2019 - Capital Crimeis pleased to announce the shortlists for the 2019 Amazon Publishing Readers’ Awards. The awards are a celebration of the crime and thriller genre and in a UK festival first, recognise excellence in film and television as well as books. The shortlists were decided by Capital Crime’s advisory board of authors, industry leaders and reviewers, but readers will have the final say on who wins in each category.

David Headley, co-founder of Capital Crime said, ‘Capital Crime is all about the readers. With panels focused on entertaining and engaging, and events and parties that are open to all, it was only natural we give readers the ultimate say over who wins our awards.’

Capital Crime has invested in an innovative voting system which gives festival passholders the ability to decide their favourite books, film and TV series. The Amazon Publishing Readers’ Awards are decided by real crime and thriller fans.

Adam Hamdy, author and screenwriter, and co-founder of Capital Crime said, ‘Amazon leads the way in technology innovation and it’s fitting that our awards make use of new technology to put the power in the hands of crime and thriller fans.’

Capital Crime festival pass holders will be able to vote for the winner in each category from today until 19 September 2019.

Hatty Stiles, Senior Marketing Manager, Amazon Publishing, said, ‘We’re delighted to be sponsoring the Capital Crime Reader’s Awards, and excited to be part of this new festival that celebrates the crime and thriller community. As soon as we heard about Capital Crime’s innovative approach and stellar line-up, we were eager to be involved.’

The winners of the awards will be announced at Capital Crime on Saturday 26th September at a gala reception that marks the close of the festival.

The 2019 Amazon Publishing Readers’ Award Nominees are:

Jane Casey – Cruel Acts
Anthony Horowitz – The Sentence is Death
Ragnar Jonasson – The Island
Philip Kerr – Metropolis
Ian Rankin – In A House of Lies

Steve Cavanagh – Twisted
Mick Herron – London Rules
Gregg Hurwitz – Out of the Dark
Manda Scott – A Treachery of Spies
Matt Wesolowski – Changeling

Oyinkan Braithwaite – My Sister, The Serial Killer
Lesley Kara – The Rumour
Laura Shepherd-Robinson – Blood & Sugar
Harriet Tyce – Blood Orange
Holly Watt – To The Lions

Amer Anwar – Brothers in Blood
Mark Edwards – Last of the Magpies
Alex Michaelides – The Silent Patient
Liane Moriarty – Nine Perfect Strangers
CL Taylor – Sleep

Robert Galbraith – Lethal White – Read by Robert Glenister
Anthony Horowitz – The Sentence is Death – Read by Rory Kinnear
Catherine Steadman – Something in the Water – Read by Catherine Steadman
Stuart Turton – The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle – Read by Jot Davies
Harriet Tyce – Blood Orange – Read by Julie Teal

Edward Carey - Little
Will Carver - Good Samaritans
Will Dean – Red Snow
Jean Levy – What Was Lost
Matt Wesolowski – Changeling

Louise Candlish – Our House
Ray Celestin – The Mobster’s Lament
MW Craven – The Puppet Show
Erin Kelly – Stone Mothers
Ian Rankin – In a House of Lies

American Animals
John Wick 3
The Sisters Brothers

Killing Eve
Line of Duty

Tickets for the festival are now on sale here: