Wednesday 30 December 2020

2020 Nero Award & Black Orchid Novella Award Winners


The Nero Award is presented each year to an author for the best American Mystery written in the tradition of Rex Stout's Nero Wolfe stories. It is presented at the Black Orchid Banquet, traditionally held on the first Saturday in December in New York City. 

The Nero is considered one of the premier awards granted to authors of crime fiction. This year, the winner is David Baldacci's One Good Deed (Hatchette Book Group, an imprint of Grand Central Publishing). 

The Black Orchid Novella Award is presented jointly by The Wolfe Pack and Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine to celebrate the novella format popularized by Rex Stout. This year's winner is Tom Larsen. El Cuerpo en el Barril (The Body in the Barrel). It will be published in July 2021 issue of Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine. 

Both award winners were announced and recognized at an online Wolfe Pack event on December 5, 2020. The Wolfe Pack hopes to present the awards in person at the 2021 Black Orchid Banquet in New York City on December 4, 2021. 

About the Wolfe Pack 

The Wolfe Pack, founded in 1977, is a forum to discuss, explore, and enjoy the 72 Nero Wolfe books and novellas written by Rex Stout. The organization promotes fellowship and extends friendship to those who enjoy these great literary works of mystery through a series of events, book discussions, and a journal devoted to the study of the genius detective, Nero Wolfe, and his intrepid assistant, Archie Goodwin. The organization has more than 500 members worldwide. 

For further information, please see -

No comments: