Tuesday 4 September 2018

Finalists are Revealed for the McIlvanney Prize Scottish Crime Book of the Year Award 2018

Winner to be presented at the opening reception of Bloody Scotland International Crime Writing Festival at The Church of the Holy Rude, Stirling on Friday 21 September
A panel of judges including comedian and crime fan Susan Calman, writer Craig Sisterson and Guardian books writer, Alison Flood, today reveal the finalists for The McIlvanney Prize from a twelve strong longlist.

The finalists include New Zealand based author, Liam McIlvanney, the son of the man after whom the prize is named; Lin Anderson, a founder of Bloody Scotland and two former winners of the McIlvanney Prize – Chris Brookmyre and Charles Cumming.

The winner of the Scottish Crime Book of the Year will be awarded The McIlvanney Prize in memory of William McIlvanney at the opening reception on Friday 8 September (for which tickets are already sold out) and at 7.15pm will lead a torchlight procession – open to the public – with Val McDermid and Denise Mina on their way down to their event. The award recognises excellence in Scottish crime writing, includes a prize of £1000 and nationwide promotion in Waterstones.

The judges explained why each book made the final four:

Lin Anderson, Follow the Dead (Macmillan)
One of Scotland’s long running series raises the bar even higher, a series which is constantly re-inventing itself without being formulaic. The judges praised the novel’s evocative atmospheric setting.

Chris Brookmyre, Places in the Darkness (Little, Brown)
Chris Brookmyre is creating his own genre of cosmic noir in a fully realised world.  A superlative off world thriller about real world issues

Charles Cumming, The Man Between (Harper Collins)
A fresh twist on the spy novel, taking the genre to a different dimension, deftly weaving political events into the story. A superb page turner in the best possible way.

Liam McIlvanney, The Quaker (Harper Collins)
In a crowded market, McIlvanney has created a protagonist who is fresh and distinctive.  He takes the familiar tropes and makes them extraordinary. 

Previous winners are Denise Mina with The Long Drop 2017, Chris Brookmyre with Black Widow 2016, Craig Russell with The Ghosts of Altona in 2015, Peter May with Entry Island in 2014, Malcolm Mackay with How A Gunman Says Goodbye in 2013 and Charles Cumming with A Foreign Country in 2012. The 2018 winner will be kept under wraps until the ceremony itself.
If you would like to talk to any of the finalists or the Director of Bloody Scotland Bob McDevitt please contact fiona@brownleedonald.com 07767 431846.

No comments: