Tuesday, 23 March 2021

The Lindisfarne Prize for Crime Fiction shortlist


The Lindisfarne Prize for Crime Fiction (‘The Lindisfarne Prize’) is a literary prize which recognises outstanding writing in the genre of crime or thriller fiction, sponsored by the author L J Ross through her publishing imprint, Dark Skies Publishing, in association with the Newcastle Noir Crime Writing Festival and Newcastle Libraries. It is open to all writers who are from, or whose work celebrates the North East of England, and who have not previously had their submission published in any form (though they might have had other stories published before). To be considered, entrants must submit a short story of no more than ten thousand words or the first two chapters and a synopsis of their work in progress.

This year’s shortlist have been announced!

Thank you to all the writers who entered this year’s competition - the standard was very high, which is an enormous achievement given all that’s going on in the world. It was no easy task to choose between them, but this year we are delighted to congratulate:

Rob Scragg

Barbara Scott Emmett

Ellie Davies

David Cooper

Ed Walsh

The winning entry will be awarded a prize of £2500 to support the completion of their work and funding towards a year’s membership of both the Society of Authors (SoA) and the Alliance of Independent Authors (ALLi), and smaller financial awards to shortlisted candidates. Entries are open from 31st October 2020 – 28th February 2021 and the winner will be announced during the Newcastle Noir Crime Writing Festival in May 2021.

The Lindisfarne Prize for Crime Fiction offers financial support but, more importantly, helps to build and maintain creative confidence for new, emerging and established writers in the genre.





No comments: