Friday, 23 July 2010

Theakstons Old Peculier Award

And the 2010 Theakstons Old Peculier Award goes to..... R J Ellory with his novel A Simple Act of Violence.

The winner was decided by combining the result of a public vote with the votes of a panel of expert judges: Jenni Murray, BBC Radio 4 broadcaster and author; John Dugdale, Guardian Associate Media Editor; Natalie Haynes, comedian and journalist; and Simon Theakston, Executive Director of T&R Theakston Ltd.

The nominees were
In the Dark, by Mark Billingham (Little, Brown)
The Surrogate, by Tania Carver (Little, Brown)
A Simple Act of Violence, by R.J. Ellory (Orion)
The Crossing Places, by Elly Griffiths (Quercus)
Dead Tomorrow, by Peter James (Pan Books)
Gallows Lane, by Brian McGilloway (Pan Macmillan)
Doors Open, by Ian Rankin (Orion)
Child 44, by Tom Rob Smith (Simon & Schuster)

Congratulations to Roger!

No comments: