Wednesday 3 August 2022

Shortlist for 2022 Lindisfarne Prize for Crime Fiction Announced


Five authors have been nominated and the winner will receive a cash prize to support the completion of their work.

The shortlist for a prestigious North East literary prize has been announced. The Lindisfarne Prize for Crime Fiction celebrates outstanding crime and thriller storytelling of those who are from or whose work celebrates the North East of England. Five authors have been nominated for this year's prize which was won in 2021 by Whitley Bay writer and former pizza deliverer Robert Scragg with his novel Helix.

He is returning as a judge this year alongside Northumberland author and founder of the prize LJ Ross, crime writer Nicky Black, and Newcastle Noir crime fiction festival founder Dr Jacky Collins. The winner will be announced on August 31 and will receive a cash prize to support the completion of their work, alongside funding for membership of the Society of Authors and the Alliance of Independent Authors.

LJ Ross said: "It’s always a real privilege to read the Lindisfarne Prize shortlist, and each year to see how the North East of England continues to inspire such creativity. I admire anyone with the courage to write, so I applaud all this year’s entries, and congratulate those who’ve been shortlisted from amongst such an outstanding selection. I can hardly believe the Prize is now in its fourth year - I hope it can continue to inspire and support the arts in our region for many more years to come."

The Shortlist

Can't Hide by Clare Sewell

Sharp Focus by Duncan Robb

Salted Earth by Katherine Graham

The Children of Gaia by Jacqueline Auld

The Taste of Iron by Ramona Slusarczyk

Congratulations all the shortlisted authors.

No comments: