Sunday, 16 November 2014

Macavity, Barry, Shamus and Anthony Award Results

Macavity Awards were given out on Thursday 13 November 2014.
Best Mystery Novel: Ordinary Grace, by William Kent Krueger (Atria)
Best First Mystery: A Killing at Cotton Hill, by Terry Shames (Seventh Street)
Best Mystery Short Story: “The Care and Feeding of Houseplants” by Art Taylor (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, March/April 2013)
Best Non-fiction: The Hour of Peril: The Secret Plot to Murder Lincoln Before the Civil War, by Daniel Stashower (Minotaur)
Sue Feder Historical Mystery Award: Murder as a Fine Art, by David Morrell (Little, Brown)

Barry Award (Given by Deadly Pleasures Magazine)
Best Novel: Ordinary Grace, by William Kent Krueger (Atria)
Best First Novel: Japantown, by Barry Lancet (Simon & Schuster)
Best Paperback Original: I Hear the Sirens in the Street, by Adrian McKinty (Seventh Street)
Best Thriller: The Doll, by Taylor Stevens (Crown)
The Don Sandstrom Memorial Award for lifetime achievement in mystery fandom went to Ted Hertel.

PWA (Private Eye Writers of America) Shamus Awards were giving out on Friday 14 November 2014.

Best PI Short Story: So Long, Chief by Max Allan Collins and Mickey Spillane (The Strand Magazine, February-May 2013)
Best First PI Novel: Bear is Broken by Lachlan Smith (Mysterious Press)
Best Indie PI Novel: Don't Dare a Dame by M Ruth Myers (Tuesday House)
Best Paperback Original: Heart of Ice by PJ Parish (Pocket) 
Best Hardcover PI Novel: The Good Cop by Brad Parks (Minatour)
St Martins / PWA award to Grant Bywaters for The Red Storm
“Hammer Award” Lifetime Achievement: Sue Grafton

The 2014 Anthony Awards were presented on Saturday 15 November 2014 at Bouchercon in Long Beach, CA

Best Audiobook - The Cuckoo's Calling by Robert Galbraith
Best TV Episode - The Blacklist Pilot
Best Children or Young Adult The Testing by Jolie Charbonneau
Best Critical/ Non-Fiction- The Hour of Peril: The Secret Plot to Murder Lincoln Before the Civil War by Daniel Stashower
Best Short Story- "The Caxton Private Lending Library & Book  Depository" by John Connolly:
Best First Novel - Yesterday's Echo by Matt Coyle
Best Paper Back Original - As She Left It by Catriona McPherson
Best Novel - Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger
David S Thompson Award was awarded to Judy Bobalik 

Congratulations to all the winners.

Hat tip to Ali Karim and Janet Rudolph for the information/results

No comments: