Saturday, 23 October 2010

More Award Results

The last of the awards that were given out at Bouchercon were the Anthony Awards, the Crimespree Magazine Awards and 2010 Short Mystery Fiction Society’s Derringer Awards.

Anthony Awards

Best novel
Winner The Brutal Telling by Louise Penny [Minotaur Books]

The other nominees were -
The Last Child by John Hart [Minotaur Books]

The Mystic Arts Of Erasing All Signs Of Death by Charlie Huston [Ballantine Books]

The Girl Who Played With Fire by Stieg Larsson, translated by Reg Keeland [Quercus/Knopf]Shanghai Moon by S.J. Rozan [Minotaur Books]

Best First Novel
A Bad Day for Sorry by Sophie Littlefield [Minotaur Books]

The other nominees were -
The Sweetness at the Bottom of the PieAlan Bradley [Delacorte Press]

Starvation Lake by Bryan Gruley [Touchstone]The Twelve/The Ghosts Of Belfast by Stuart Neville [Harvill Secker/Soho Press]

In The Shadow Of Gotham by Stefanie Pintoff [Minotaur Books]

Paperback Original
WinnerStarvation Lake by Bryan Gruley [Touchstone]
The other nominees were
-Bury Me Deep by Megan Abbott [Simon & Schuster]

Tower by Ken Bruen and Reed Farrel Coleman [Busted Flush Press]

Quarry in the Middle by Max Allan Collins [Hard Case Crime]

Death And The Lit Chick by G.M. Malliet [Midnight Ink]

Air Time by Hank Phillippi Ryan [Mira]

Best Short Story
Winner - “On the House” by Hank Phillippi Ryan, QUARRY: Crime Stories by New England Writers [Level Best Books]

The other nominees were -
Last Fair Deal Gone Down” by Ace Atkins, CROSSROAD BLUES [Busted Flush Press]

Femme Sole” by Dana Cameron, BOSTON NOIR [Akashic Books]

Animal Rescue” by Dennis Lehane, BOSTON NOIR [Akashic Books]“Amapola” by Luis Alberto Urrea, PHOENIX NOIR [Akashic Books]

Best Critical Non-Fiction Work
Winner - Talking about Detective Fiction by P.D. James [Bodleian Library/Knopf]

The Line Up: The World’s Greatest Crime Writers Tell the Inside Story of Their
Greatest Detectives – Otto Penzler, ed. [Little, Brown and Co]

Haunted Heart: The Life and Times of Stephen King by Lisa Rogak [Thomas Dunne Books]
Dame Agatha’s Shorts: An Agatha Christie Short Story Companion by Elena Santangelo [Bella Rosa Books]

The Talented Miss Highsmith: The Secret Life and Serious Art of Patricia Highsmith by
Joan Schenkar [St. Martin's Press]

Favorite book of 2009-
Winner - The Mystic Arts of Erasing All Signs of Death by Charlie Huston
Other nominees -
Bury Me Deep by Megan Abbott
Trust No One by Gregg Hurwitz
The Amateurs by Marcus Sakey

Favorite First Book 2009 -

Winner - Even by Andrew Grant
Other nominees -
The Sweetness At The Bottom of The Pie by Alan Bradley
Running From The Devil by Jamie Freveletti
A Bad Day For Sorry by Sophie Littlefield
The Ghosts of Belfast by Stuart Neville

Best in an on -going series for 2009 -

Winner - Walking Dead by Greg Rucka
Other nominees -
The Silent Hour by Michael Koryta
Shatter by Michael Robotham
Shanghai Moon by SJ Rozan
Jack Reacher Award-
The Jack Reacher Award is given to an author who is someone we would recommend to everyone we meet and is also great to their fans and gives
back to the mystery community. The 2010 Jack Reacher Award was given to Val McDermid.

2010 Short Mystery Fiction Society’s Derringer Awards

Best Flash Story (Up to 1,000 Words): “And Here’s to You, Mrs. Edwardson,” by Hamilton Waymire (from Big Pulp, November 23, 2009)

Best Short Story (1,001 - 4,000 Words): “’Twas the Night,” by Anita Page (from The Gift of Murder,
edited by John M. Floyd; Wolfmont Press)
Best Long Story (4,001-8,000 Words): “Famous Last Words,” by Doug Allyn (EQMM, November 2009)

Best Novelette (8,001-17,500 Words): “Julius Katz,” by Dave Zeltserman (EQMM, September/October 2009)
The Edward D. Hoch Memorial Golden Derringer For Lifetime Achievement: Lawrence Block

No comments: