Monday 25 July 2022

2022 Macavity Nominees Announced


The Macavity Award Nominees 2022 

(for works published in 2021)

The Macavity Awards are nominated by members of Mystery Readers International, subscribers to Mystery Readers Journal, and friends of MRI. The winners will be announced at opening ceremonies at the Minneapolis Bouchercon.

If you're a member of MRI, a subscriber to MRJ, or a friend of MRI, you will receive a ballot later this week, so get reading. Ballots will be due by August 15.


The Dark Hours by Michael Connelly (Little, Brown and Co.) 

Razorblade Tears by S. A. Cosby (Flatiron Books)

1979 by Val McDermid (Atlantic Monthly)

Bobby March Will Live Forever by Alan Parks(World Noir)

We Begin at the End by Chris Whitaker (Henry Holt)

Harlem Shuffle by Colson Whitehead (Doubleday)


Who is Maude Dixon? by Alexandra Andrews (Little, Brown) 

Girl A by Abigail Dean (Viking)

Deer Season by Erin Flanagan (University of Nebraska Press)

Arsenic and Adobo by Mia P. Manansala (Berkley)

All Her Little Secrets by Wanda M. Morris (William Morrow)


Lucky Thirteen,” by Tracy Clark (Midnight Hour, Crooked Lane Books)

Sweeps Week,” by Richard Helms (EQMM, July/August 2021)

Curious Incidents,”by Steve Hockensmith (EQMM, January/February 2021)

“The Road to Hana,”by R.T. Lawton (AHMM, May/June 2021)

The White Star,” by G.M. Malliet (EQMM, July/August 2021)

The Locked Room Library,”by Gigi Pandian (EQMM, July/August 2021)

Julius Katz and the Two Cousins,”by Dave Zeltserman (EQMM, July/August 2021) 


Agatha Christie’s Poirot: The Greatest Detective in the World by Mark Aldridge (HarperCollins)

How to Write a Mystery: A Handbook from Mystery Writers of America edited by Lee Child with Laurie R. King (Scribner)

The Confidence Men: How Two Prisoners of War Engineered the Most Remarkable Escape in History by Margalit Fox (Random House)

The Unquiet Englishman: A Life of Graham Greene by Richard Greene (W.W. Norton)

Tony Hillerman: A Life by James McGrath Morris (University of Oklahoma)

The Reason for the Darkness of the Night: Edgar Allan Poe and the Forging of American Science by John Tresch (Farrar, Straus and Giroux) 

The Twelve Lives of Alfred Hitchcock: An Anatomy of the Master of Suspense by Edward White (W.W. Norton)


The Venice Sketchbook by Rhys Bowen (Lake Union)

Clark and Division by Naomi Hirahara (Soho Crime)

The Hollywood Spy by Susan Elia MacNeal (Bantam)

The Bombay Prince by Sujata Massey (Soho Crime)

Velvet Was the Night by Silvia Moreno-Garcia (Del Rey)

Death at Greenway by Lori Rader-Day (William Morrow)

Congratulations to all the nominated authors

No comments: