Saturday, 16 May 2015

CWA Dagger Shortlist

Over 882 entries were submitted by publishers and individuals to compete for the 2015 Dagger Awards. The shortlists announced at CRIMEFEST 2015 were the CWA Short Story Dagger, International Dagger, Non Fiction Dagger, Endeavour Historical Dagger and Debut Dagger. 
The CWA Daggers Shortlist:
The shortlist for the Dagger In The Library award was announced on Monday 11th May by its sponsor Dead Good (
The International Dagger
Falling Freely, As If In A Dream by Leif GW Persson (tr Paul Norlen) – published by Transworld.
Camille by Pierre Lemaitre (tr Frank Wynne) – published by Quercus.
Cobra by Deon Meyer (tr K.L Seegers) – published by Hodder & Stoughton.
Arab Jazz by Karim Miské (tr Sam Gordon) – published by MacLehose Press.
The Invisible Guardian by Dolores Redondo (tr Isabelle Kaufeler) – published by HarperCollins.
Into a Raging Blaze by Andreas Norman (tr Ian Giles) – published by Quercus.
The Short Story Dagger
Apocrypha by Richard Lange – Sweet Nothing – published by Mulholland Press
Red Eye by Michael Connelly and Dennis Lehane – Face Off – published by Sphere
The Hunter by Dashiell Hammett – The Hunter & Other Stories – published by No Exit Press
Sweet Nothing by Richard Lange – Sweet Nothing – published by Mulholland Press
Juror 8 by Stuart Neville – OxCrimes – published by Profile Books
The Dead Their Eyes Implore Us by George Pelecanos – OxCrimes – published by Profile Books
 The Non Fiction Dagger
In Plain Sight: The Life and Lies of Jimmy Savile by Dan Davies – published by Quercus
A Kim Jong-Il Production by Paul Fischer – published by Penguin
Ghettoside: Investigating a Homicide Epidemic by Jill Leovy – published by Bodley Head
Gun Baby Gun: A Bloody Journey into the World of the Gun by Iain Overton – published by Canongate
by Ǻsne Seierstad – published by Virago
Just Mercy: a story of justice and redemption by Bryan Stevenson – published by Scrib
Endeavour Historical Dagger – sponsored by Endeavour Press Ltd
Havana Sleeping by Martin Davies – published by Hodder & Stoughton
Lamentation by C. J. Sansom – published by Mantle
The Man from Berlin by Luke McCallin – published by No Exit Press
The Seeker by S. G. MacLean – published by Quercus
The Silent Boy by Andrew Taylor – published by Harper Collins
The Taxidermist’s Daughterby Kate Mosse – published by Orion

Debut Dagger – sponsored by Orion
Dark Chapter by Winnie M Li
Last Of The Soho Legends by Greg Keen
The Ice Coffin by Jill Sawyer
The Pure Drop by Nigel Robbins
Lock Me In by Kate Simants

“The CWA Daggers are amongst the most prestigious crime writing awards in the world. The list of past winners reads like a Who’s Who of the genre,” enthuses CWA Chair Len Tyler. “This year the judges have been able to shortlist another fantastic collection of books in each of the categories. My congratulations to all of the nominated authors.”
The CWA Dagger Awards will be presented on 30th June, to mark the end of Crime Reading Month (, at a gala dinner in central London.

No comments: