Friday, 28 May 2021

2021 Awards of Excellence Winners

 Crime Writers of Canada Announces 

2021 Awards of Excellence Winners

Crime Writers of Canada (CWC) announced the Winners of the 2021 Crime Writers of Canada Awards of Excellence in Canadian Crime Writing. Formerly known as theArthur Ellis Awards, the Awards started in 1984. The annual Crime Writers of Canada Awards of Excellence recognizes the best in mystery, crime, and suspense fiction, and crime nonfiction by Canadian authors. Congratulations to all the nominated authors!!

Best Crime Novel sponsored by Rakuten Kobo, with a $1000 prize

The Finder by Will Ferguson (Simon & Schuster Canada)

Best Crime First Novel sponsored by Writers First, with a $500 prize

The Transaction by Guglielmo D’Izza,( Guernica Editions)

The Howard Engel Award for Best Crime Novel Set in Canada sponsored by The Engel Family with a $500 prize

Stay Where I Can See You by Katrina Onstad (HarperCollins Publishers Ltd)

Best Crime Novella sponsored by Mystery Weekly with a $200 prize

Never Going Back by Sam Wiebe (Orca Book Publishers)

Best Crime Short Story sponsored by Mystery Weekly with a $300 prize

Cold Wave by Marcelle Dubé, (Sisters in Crime - Canada West)

Best French Crime Book (Fiction and Nonfiction)

La mariée de corail by Roxanne Bouchard (Libre Expression)

Best Juvenile or YA Crime Book (Fiction and Nonfiction) sponsored by Shaftesbury with a $500 prize

Red Fox Road by Frances Greenslade, (Puffin Canada, an imprint of Penguin Random House)

The Brass Knuckles Award for Best Nonfiction Crime Book sponsored by Simpson & Wellenreiter LLP, Hamilton, with a $300 prize

Missing From the Village: The Story of Serial Killer Bruce McArthur, the Search for Justice, and the System That Failed Toronto's Queer Community by Justin Ling (McClelland & Stewart)

The Award for Best Unpublished Manuscript with a $500 prize sponsored by ECW Press

The Future by Raymond Bazowski


About Crime Writers of Canada

Crime Writers of Canada was founded in 1982 as a professional organization designed to raise the profile of Canadian crime writers. Our members include authors, publishers, editors, booksellers, librarians, reviewers, and literary agents as well as many developing authors. Past winners of the Awards have included such major names in Canadian crime writing as Mario Bolduc, Gail Bowen, Stevie Cameron, Howard Engel, Barbara Fradkin, Louise Penny, Peter Robinson and Eric Wright.

We would like to thank ECW Press, Rakuten Kobo, Mystery Weekly Magazine, Shaftesbury, Simpson and Wellenreiter LLP (Hamilton), and the Howard Engel family for their sponsorship, and the many participating publishers for their continued support.

Find CWC at

No comments: