Saturday, 22 May 2021

2021 Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Best Published Novel Award Short List


The Foundation encourages readers to select the one that appeals to them most, then read, share and recommend. 

'Most of 2020 was a challenging time for all of us, including booksellers and publishers around the world. This said, we at the Foundation have an utmost respect for the authors, publishers and agents in their continued drive to reach readers in new ways. We are fortunate to work with a team of dedicated and passionate librarians and library staff to help select the shortlist.

 These shortlisted novels are thrilling, sometimes witty, and will make you weep. There are so many emotions brilliantly put to paper in all these books that they are guaranteed to keep you up at night. Read one and it will present you with a fresh take on the world, read all six and the power of adventure will sweep you off your feet.'

- Niso Smith, Founder of The Wilbur & Niso Smith Foundation

Throughout June and July, the Prize will run an online campaign with a public vote element, where the reader’s choice equates to one seat on the judging panel. Over the course of the campaign, the Foundation will host a series of online events which you will able to sign up for via the Foundation’s website, plus engagement opportunities for libraries and reading groups, to let you get to know the books and authors. 

The winner of this year's Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize will be revealed at a special online ceremony on 8th September 2021.

The following 6 authors all in the running for the £10,000 prize:

THE DEEP BLUE BETWEEN by Ayesha Harruna Attah (Pushkin Press)

CITY OF VENGEANCE by D.V. Bishop (Pan Macmillan)

OTTO ECKHART’S ORDEAL by Niall Edworthy (Universe, Unicorn Publishing)

MISS BENSON’S BEETLE by Rachel Joyce (Doubleday)


ROGUE by James Swallow (Bonnier Books UK)

Congratulations to all the authors long listed for the award.

No comments: