Tuesday, 1 June 2021

The Macavity Award Nominees 2021


The Macavity Award Nominees 2021 (for works published in 2020) have been announced.

The Macavity Awards are nominated by members of Mystery Readers International, subscribers to Mystery Readers Journal, and friends of MRI. The winners will be announced at opening ceremonies at the Bouchercon in New Orleans.

Best Novel 

Before She Was Helen, by Caroline B. Cooney (Poisoned Pen Press)

Blacktop Wasteland, by S.A. Cosby (Flatiron Books)

Blind Vigil, by Matt Coyle (Oceanview Publishing)

All the Devils Are Here, by Louise Penny (Minotaur)

These Women, by Ivy Pochoda (Ecco Press)

When She Was Good, by Michael Robotham (Scribner)

Best First

Djinn Patrol on the Purple Line, by Deepa Anappara (Random House)

Murder in Old Bombay, by Nev March (Minotaur)

The Thursday Murder Club, by Richard Osman (Pamela Dorman Books)

Winter Counts, by David Heska Wanbli Weider (Ecco Press)

Darling Rose Gold, by Stephanie Wrobel (Berkley)

Best Critical/Biographical

Sometimes You Have to Lie: The Life and Times of Louise Fitzhugh, Renegade Author of Harriet the Spy, by Leslie Brody (Seal Press)

Howdunit: A Masterclass in Crime Writing by Members of the Detection Club, edited by Martin Edwards (HarperCollins)

Ian Rankin: A Companion to the Mystery Fiction by Erin E. MacDonald (McFarland)

H R.F. Keating: A Life of Crime, by Sheila Mitchell (Level Best Books)

Southern Cross Crime: The Pocket Essential Guide to the Crime Fiction, Film & TV of Australia and New Zealand by Craig Sisterson (Oldcastle Books)

Best Short Story

Dear Emily Etiquette" by Barb Goffman (Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine, Sept/Oct 2020)

The Boy Detective & The Summer of ‘74” by Art Taylor (Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine, Jan/Feb 2020)

"Elysian Fields" by Gabriel Valjan (California Schemin’: The 2020 Bouchercon Anthology, edited by Art Taylor; Wildside Press)

Dog Eat Dog” by Elaine Viets (The Beat of Black Wings: Crime Fiction Inspired by the Songs of Joni Mitchell, edited by Josh Pachter; Untreed Reads Publishing)

The Twenty-Five Year Engagement,” by James W. Ziskin (In League with Sherlock Holmes: Stories Inspired by the Sherlock Holmes Canon, edited by Laurie R. King; Pegasus Crime)

Sue Feder Memorial Award for Best Historical Mystery

The Last Mrs. Summers by Rhys Bowen (Berkeley)

The Cabinets of Barnaby Mayne by Elsa Hart (Minotaur)

The Turning Tide by Catriona McPherson (Quercus)

Mortal Music by Ann Parker (Poisoned Pen Press)

The Mimosa Tree Mystery by Ovidia Yu (Constable)

Turn to Stone by James Ziskin (Seventh Street Books)

Congratulations to all the nominated authors.

No comments: